My kid ate a cigarette

JaydenWell technically not my kid… “My kid ate a cigarette” seems to be but one of the brilliant lines in the latest Hollywood movie due to come out in May 2012, “What To Expect When You’re Expecting”. I wonder which Hollywood genius came up with this original name? :P (I don’t know why I am joking about it though, as that genius probably earns $2 million a year to come up with names like this and other originals like Hot Tub Time Machine, 2 Fast 2 Furious and Snakes on a Plane).

Anyway, it’s filled with an ensemble cast of the who’s who in Hollywood (much like previous celebrity orgies Valentine’s Day, Love Actually & New Years Eve) and even though this genre isn’t normally my cup of tea (because let’s face it, I’m a guy and my macho nature has instilled the love of action flicks into my DNA. Bring on classics like Top Gun, The Rock, ALIENS, Black Hawk Down, Gladiator, [insert any other war/action film here]), I think I will actually thoroughly enjoy this movie simply because I can sympathize with most of the characters.

Let’s take the opening sequence of the trailer where Elizabeth Banks’ character says to her husband “I’m sorry, all I wanna do is punch you in the face!” and her husband simply responds with a smile and gives her a thumbs up. I love it… plainly and simply, her husband has just demonstrated how to be the perfect partner during pregnancy (and I guess forever and ever till death do you part as well)… be supportive… NO MATTER WHAT!

I won’t spoil the trailer any more, watch it and hopefully you will get a laugh or a giggle like I did… My favourite bit is at the 0:58 second mark! Keep an eye out.


Until next time…

 

debut dad

11 thoughts on “My kid ate a cigarette

  1. Was going to chastise you for smoking in the first place with an infant…

    I’ve read the books, they are quite helpful (the “what to expect series”) and we still go to them when we have questions or to look up milestones. Yep books and not just the Internet!! Haha

    I didn’t know the movie was an ensemble cast.. Sometimes those work, sometimes they don’t

    • Haha… I don’t even smoke!
      This movie looks great… The concept should work regardless of the ensemble cast… Will be great for a laugh when it’s released :) Even if it’s just to see the pro dads – “The Dudes”

  2. this is awesome! i came over from the tots2tweens thing! whoops, i think i may have ended one of my posts there with “thanks, ladies!” i didn’t mean to disclude you! i love your blog! that video actually looks really really good! do you think i should end every sentence of this comment with an exclamation point? (except that one, b/c it is a question?!)

    your blog reminds me a little bit of http://www.adelinesdaddy.com/, have you read him? he is the one redesigning my blog soon and he has a great daddy blog.

    anway, i am glad i found you!

    • Thanks for stopping by. Haha I love exclamation marks too!!!! Fingers crossed the movie is as good as the trailer though!!!
      Oh and I will check that daddy blog out later, thanks for sharing!!!! :)

  3. Funny trailer, but don’t let ‘em eat cigarettes, though! They ARE toxic – Just to be on the safe side, Keep this Number In Your Phone, just in case you ever need it –
    US Dept of Health & Human Services Poison Help Program: 1-800-222-1222

    • Thanks Ruth. Yeh I don’t think I’d ever let Jayden near a cigarette :p I don’t smoke anyway oh and thanks for sharing the number, I will save the phone as it’s a great idea, but I need to find the Australian equivalent as I live down under in Oz. hehe I’m not from the United States :p

  4. The trailer is hilarious! I LOVE the Dad group aka the no judgement circle walking with strollers…Chris Rock is awesome. …the last time I went to the movies was…???I have two kids under the age of three, stay at home with them for about 13 hours a day, six days a week…We saw The Lorax. I think the last “mommy time” movie I saw was Midnight In Paris centuries ago.

    I hadn’t seen the trailer for this film. I HATED those “What to Expect….” books when I was pregnant. But this movie…awesome! I think I will definitely see it. Thanks for posting it!!! :)

    • Glad you enjoyed it :) The “no judgement circle” is awesome… best part of the trailer for sure!
      Lorax is getting a tonne of great reviews… may have to check that out too I think.

  5. I’m really looking forward to seeing this movie…as a dvd release. It will not be something I pay to see in theaters, though. Any dad who admits to his kid swallowing a cigarette is awesome because he is strong enough to admit his faults. Soo very funny.

What are your thoughts on this? Please share them

