“Daddy… don’t leave!”

Today was my first day back at work and I managed to survive it! It was a struggle though… my little man didn’t make it easy. I didn’t burp or change his diaper this morning as I was getting ready for work. Jayden was somewhat different this morning, it’s like he knew it was my first day back at work. Hmmm The Force is strong in this one.

This is how I think the morning went through Jayden’s perspective.

Yawn… what a night. I had a great sleep. Oh look, there’s that giraffe and tree again on the wall, I hope mum and dad change that soon, the wall sticker is getting old, I need something new to look at. At least a moving mobile or something with lights, all the other babies seem to get the cooler stuff.

I think it’s time for breakfast, my stomach is rumbling, I better order some food… WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA… WAAA… WAAAAAAAAA… (at this point mum wakes and enters the nursery)Β Finally… there’s my mum!
Hi, I’d like to order my usual thanks! (mum starts feeding) Oh yeh, that really hits the spot, my favourite! Milk… the white gold! Mmmmm… delicious,Β Β I swear I could have this for breakfast lunch and dinner!

(At the change table) I hope mum doesn’t mind the smell, I can’t see how bad it is, but I feel like I had a bad curry, I can’t wait to get into something fresh! (I enter the room wearing a suit) Why are you wearing that silly outfit dad? Oh no, don’t tell me you’re going to work? I thought you were going to stay at home and play with me and mummy? Okay, that’s it, I’m going to go all super cute on you to make you stay! (I talk to Jayden a little and then kiss him on the forehead and say goodbye to him) Goodbye? Don’t kiss me goodbye dad! Don’t leave! Β Don’t make me grab your finger with my super claw hand and razor-sharp fingernails… ok fine… you asked for it! RAWR! Daddy… Don’t leave!

Super cuteDon't Leave

Working Dad

Explaining that I had to go to work so I could buy him more toys seemed to do the trick

Suffice to say the little guy really didn’t want me to go… he just knew that something was different this morning and the look in his little eyes made my heart melt and made me want to stay that little bit longer… so I did πŸ™‚

Jayden loves the BabyBjorn, so I grabbed that and walked around a bit with him and talked to him before I left for work… he settled a bit, but it was still hard to leave him… and to think that today is only day 1.

I won’t bore you with details of my work day, but as soon as things were under control, I headed home and managed to make it home in time for Jayden’s bath and feed which was such a great reward to come back to after a long first day back at work.

I noticed that he grabbed hold of my finger again when I was feeding him after his bath… maybe it was just to ensure that I didn’t leave him again?

Got your finger!

Got your finger! You're not going anywhere!

Don’t worry son, I love you and I promise I will always be by your side…

debut dad

41 thoughts on ““Daddy… don’t leave!”

  1. Awww, I know it must have been so hard for you. I remember when my hubby went back to work and he wanted regular updates on what Miss M was doing. I went back to work myself in October and it was extremely hard and I miss her so much in the day. Relish those weekends when you get the quality time together πŸ™‚

  2. Don’t worry, It never gets easier. As they get older you’ll have to start taking them to school. This is where it gets really tricky. They will want you to stay with them all day and to make matters worse, you will want to stay with them all day. I still battle with leaving my little guys and I have been doing so for almost 4 years now.

  3. Your son is so adorable !

    I text my husband everyday with a picture of the baby. And text him again if anything major happens like the first time she went from being on her stomach to her back by herself.

    He sure misses you but you are doing it for the greater good !

  4. My Husband goes back to work on Monday after his 12 week “man”ternity leave. I have been back to work now 12 weeks so I know the feeling… it is tough to leave them but you a have lifetime of special times ahead together!

    Jayden is a beautiful little guy!

  5. Pingback: Treasuring Children Together « Treasuring Childhood

  6. Wow, that’s an impressive debut for a debut dad! Most impressed with how hands-on you are. All fathers should be like that!

    Btw, thanks for dropping by my blog mummumstheword.wordpress.com and look forward to more exchanges on our new journeys as first-time parents.

  7. You welcome, thanks for coming to mine too.
    Aren’t all dads hands-on though? Maybe we all love our kids in our own special way… I just love interacting with him as much as possible as most of the time he’s asleep whilst at this age. Oh and it also makes my wife happy because it means she can rest sometimes instead of always tending to the needs of Jayden

    • YOU don’t realize how special you are. NOT all dads, and actually very few are ‘hands on’. You are among the elite, special, extra-mile dad’s who deserve the recognition. Make sure you show your wife this post! She will be happy she picked the right dad for her kids!
      πŸ™‚
      Ruth

      • Really? I know a lot of my friends who are as hands on as I am (if not more). Maybe I appear special because I am blogging about it? I think there are many dads out there who go by unnoticed who do an incredible job.
        Thanks for the vote of confidence though Ruth! I’ll forward this to my wife and maybe I can get out of doing the dishes tonight… no chance! haha

  8. Awe, too cute! Isn’t it so hard leaving them?! Working full-time is tough knowing you’re missing out on your little one but that’s life… but it looks like your enjoying every second you have with your little one… πŸ™‚

  9. Wouldn’t it be nice if you could work from home. I worked for 27 years as an animation artist – most of the time working at home. It was tough – a lot of staying up late at night to catch up (after joyfully being interrupted by the kids during the day). But I got more time with them that way. Heck, if we were just rich and could afford NOT to work! That would be the BEST! Glad you are enjoying the time you DO get, though!

  10. It is so hard to go back to work after having a baby and being able to stay home with them for a bit. Going back to work was very difficult for me. My son is 15 months old now and I still have a hard time leaving him. It’s hard to get used to leaving their cute little faces.

    I also just want to say that your baby is adorable! So cute and cuddly!

  11. The is a beautiful post. Jayden is one lucky little son of a gun. He’s going to love your documenting of his story when he is old enough to read about your complete and total love for him.

    I think if you linked this up to some linky parties your will make a few heats melt.

    Carolyn

What are your thoughts on this? Please share them

