The 4 stages of waking up

Recently I’ve noticed that Jayden has a set 4 stage wake up routine… it goes a little something like this:

  1. Undo the SwaddleMe Wrap (which he seems to like at nights for the longer sleeps) and let his little arms out… he stretches his right arm up high
  2. Let his little legs out and he’ll then stretch them and both of his arms
  3. He then proceeds to switch over to stretch his left arm up high
  4. Finally he seems to always put both hands behind his head and just relax for a bit before he either:
    a) opens his eyes and looks around the room curiously; or
    b) starts crying

Waking Up

I totally love watching him go through his little ritual of waking up his way. It always makes me smile and often makes me giggle. I’m sure all babies have a similar ritual after being wrapped so tightly for a few hours, it’s only natural to want to stretch every part of your body after beingย cooped up for so long.

I’d love to hear from others about any cute rituals which their little ones display which bring a smile to your faces ๐Ÿ™‚

 
debut dad

15 thoughts on “The 4 stages of waking up

  1. My favourite part of the wake up routine is the moment when my baby girl realises I am there and the most amazing and beautiful smile spreads across her face… priceless moment and the best way to start the day!

    That moment is followed by picking her up and feeling her arms embrace my neck and the nuzzle that follows. Just wait until Jayden really cuddles you for the first time… beautiful moment.

  2. Love this – takes me back to the days when we swaddled Miss M ๐Ÿ™‚ She is still just as cute even now as she stretches when she wakes and gives you the biggest beaming smile ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Thanks for the “like”!

    I love these pictures — and how closely you’ve observed his routine. Our twins are almost a year old now, but I remember when they were tiny and squinchy like this. Now they sleep on their tummies, either straight out like a plank or what my husband calls “butts up.” Each week seems to bring another change, but the new is just as fascinating as the old …

What are your thoughts on this? Please share them

