I’m definitely maybe a hopeful pessimist!

I’ve overheard the phrase “Thank God I’m an atheist!” many times and it always sometimes makes me chuckle each time I hear it. The English language can be seriously funny!

An oxymoron isn’t a moronic individual who is somewhat ox-like, according to Google it’s a figure of speech in which apparently contradictory or incongruous terms appear in conjunction and I’m sure you’ve already picked up on the 2 that can be are found in the title of this post :)

Working Dad

Doing the dishes was never this fun!

So I think I am a walking oxymoron because I am a working-father. What’s more, I often work from home. What about my holidays/vacations? Well they are actually more working holidays/vacations as the amount of work which piles up when I am away is chaos (I just try to turn it into some kind of organised chaos :P). Technology these days keeps me so connected to my work and whilst it is great, it’s also bad as I often answer emails late at night to get it off my plate.

Now that I am a father, I need to re-prioritise my life a little. My paternity leave ends this week and it’s back to work on Monday… I’m dreading Monday morning already as I will no doubt miss my big baby Jayden 157% more than normal (quite an exact estimate I know). I will also miss his quiet screams, the look on his face as he waits patiently for me to do something and the sound of silence once he’s dozed off. I’ve gotten used to looking after him and helping out throughout the day around the house. Maybe I should be a Stay At Home Dad? But how would I pay the bills? Hmmm no chance… in my unbiased opinion, there’s more chance of having an easy labour!

Jayden Curious

C'mon dad! Do something already!

So can you be a successful worker and a successful father? I think so. Just look at Tiger Woods… okay, bad example, that ended up pretty ugly. Barack Obama though seems to manage running the USA and still have a happy family (although I think the rumoured secret to his success has probably got a lot to do with his wife and the fact that they are happily married). Hmmm… I might be onto something here… my wife is amazing and I’m happily married… now someone just give me an entire country to run!

In summary, as a working-father, I know I’ll need to find the perfect balance of work and family time, I can’t turn a blind eye to my commitments as a father and I can’t ignore my duties at work especially because there is a lot of pressure building up there as well with the economy constantly changing. I’m going to fail miserably aren’t I? I am doomed… maybe not? maybe I’ll find a way, maybe I will be the best dad ever!
Bah I’m just a hopeful pessimist!

debut dad

14 thoughts on “I’m definitely maybe a hopeful pessimist!

  1. Sounds like you’re already on your way to being a great dad… Because you CARE. And that’s the #1 requirement. Will you be perfect? Probably not, but who is? And honestly, our flaws help to teach our children too. Thanks for commenting on my blog today so I could find yours!

  2. You are running your own country… Its a country of three! Ok co-running. But I think we all know who is really in charge…. Jayden

  3. Nice heartfelt article. “Going back to work after baby” is no longer something only women have to grapple with, but as is apparent from your article, men are in the same boat.

    Thanks for posting a comment on my blog. I just starting blogging, so was nice to get an encouraging comment.

  4. congrats on your beautiful baby! Going back to work is difficult, particularly if you enjoy being home. I hope you find your balance. Seeing your baby makes me miss those times…but do know parenting gets better and better (mine are 4 and 8 now) – just think when he begins to talk, and you learn straight from his mouth just what an interesting little dude he is. – and humor is vital for parenting…you seem to already have that in your back pocket! thnx for stopping by bringingtravelhome

What are your thoughts on this? Please share them

