Breast is best

Breast is best

... but it's not easy

Breast is best… but it’s not always easy.

It’s been a challenging 48 hours… haven’t got much sleep and Jayden has been really unsettled.

I know I am not a mother and I don’t physically have to breastfeed, but my personal view is that latching on correctly is the key. If baby latches on well, then mummy is comfortable and the milk flow is good and so the whole feed is stress free and efficient. This in turn results in a more settled baby who is not over-tired or over-stimulated which leads to a good rest for baby, mummy and daddy. Easy to say, hard to do.

If baby doesn’t latch on correctly and efficiently, then baby will start to get unsettled and then cry and then squirm and then mummy, daddy and baby get stressed. Feeds take longer, nappy changes are harder and baby will be hard to settle and the whole process takes a very long time.

My wife is doing really well and I love her to bits. I try and support her mentally for all her feeds by being with her in the room and helping her burp and change the nappies. There are some things that I am no good at though… so it goes without saying that we had some initial issues and she decided to call a private lactation consultant and that was such a great decision as she was an amazing help and I think they are worth every penny! Things are now improving :)

That’s all for now… I hear baby Jayden crying…

4 thoughts on “Breast is best

  1. Lactation consultants are awesome- I saw one before bub was born then rang her after the birth when I had questions. Really helped with my confidence and preventing problems I’m sure we would have had! It certainly gets easier as the months go by, and slowly BF turns from a chore into something really precious and enjoyable :)

What are your thoughts on this? Please share them

